The ASEAN Prize is envisaged as a regional premier award given annually to recognise inspiring achievements of ASEAN citizens or ASEAN-based organisations with significant contribution toward ASEAN community-building efforts.

Founded in 2018, it is anchored upon the commitment of the ASEAN Secretariat and ASEAN Member States who share mutual aspiration to acknowledge ASEAN citizens’ and institutions’ exemplary contribution in fostering the ASEAN identity, promoting the ASEAN spirit and upholding the the ASEAN way.

In collaboration with Ayala Corporation and Yayasan Hasanah, the ASEAN Prize confers its highest appreciation to the people or organizations of ASEAN with the prestigious honour signifying excellent contribution for a greater ASEAN.

The ASEAN Prize Trophy and Cash-Prize of US$20,000 will be bestowed by an ASEAN Leader to the selected Recipient during the Opening Ceremony of the ASEAN Summit on a yearly basis.

The ASEAN Prize 2020 recipient was officially announced at the 37th ASEAN Summit Opening Ceremony in November 2020. It was conferred to the Singapore-based ASEAN Studies Centre (ASC) of ISEAS - Yusof Ishak Institute for promoting greater understanding and awareness of ASEAN, and contributing towards regional cooperation and integration.